Skip to [main navigation | secondary navigation | content]
Contact us | Privacy and Cookies | Cymraeg


Guide to Collections

Brief outline of the key collections held by the archive.

The collection consists of records, of any date, considered to be of permanent cultural and historical significance to the geographical area covered by Conwy County Borough.

These records include the administrative records of Conwy County Borough Council, as well as its  predecessor authorities.  In addition we hold private collections of local organisations, businesses and individuals.

These records come in a variety of formats including volumes, letters, photographs, digital, analogue, maps and plans.

Our collection catalogues are now being made available online

PLEASE NOTE: Currently only a selection of our collections are searchable.  These will be regularly added to and eventually all our catalogues will be available to search.

You can find our Collections Management Policy below.

Local Government records

Aberconwy Borough Council (1974 - 1996)

Colwyn Borough Council (1894 - 1996)

Conwy County Borough Council and the Shadow Authority of Aberconwy-Colwyn (1995 + )

Urban & Rural District Councils:

  • Abergele (1891 - 1974)
  • Aled (1949 - 1974)
  • Betws-y-Coed (1895 - 1974)
  • Conwy Borough (1604 - 1974)
  • Hiraethog (1933 - 1974)
  • Llandudno (1848 - 1983, includes records of the Improvement Commissioners)
  • Llanfairfechan (1872 - 1974)
  • Llanrwst (1867 - 1974)
  • Nantconway (1873 - 1974)
  • Penmaenmawr (1844 - 1974)

Parish & Community Councils:

  • Betws y Coed (1974-1994)
  • Caerhun (1813-1965)
  • Capel Curig (1904-1979)
  • Conwy (1331-1975)
  • Dolgarrog (1899-1944)
  • Dolwyddelan (1894-1954)
  • Llanbedr y Cennin (1798-1984)
  • Llanddoged and Maenan (1954-2002)
  • Llanrhychwyn (1928-1983)
  • Llansantffraid Glan Conway (1838-1927)
  • Maenan (1942-1983)
  • Penmachno (1894-1978)
  • Pentrefoelas (1894-2005)
  • Trefriw (1895-1962)
  • Ysbyty Ifan (1792-1858,1883)

Town Councils:

  • Abergele (1974 - 2007)
  • Conwy (1998 - 2003)
  • Llandudno (1974 - 1991)
  • Llanrwst (1988 - 1995)
  • Penmaenmawr (1974 - 2002)
  • Trefriw and Llanrhychwyn (1878 - 1928)

  • Board of Guardians of the Conway Poor Law Union
  • Court of Petty Sessions and Llandudno Magistrates Court
  • Electoral Registers (1921-2010, with gaps)
  • School Records
  • For former Denbighshire schools it is recommended to contact Denbighshire RO also.
  • Parish and Non-Parochial Records
  • Photograph and Print Collections Maps and Plans
  • Business and Industry Collections
  • Societies and Organisations
  • Private Individuals
  • Local Newspapers

Related documents

Acrobat/PDF FileCollections Management Policy 2015 - 2020
Document type: Acrobat/PDF File
Document size: 180k

See Also

  • Archives 13/01/2011

    The Conwy Archive Service is open to the public every Monday to Thursday from 10:00 to 12:30 and 13:30 to 16:30.


How useful was this information?
Useful     Not sure     Not useful

Did you find what you were looking for?
Yes    Partly    No    Just browsing

How could we make this page or the site in general better?


Overall, how would you rate your satisfaction with our site today?
Satisfied     Not sure     Not satisfied

On a scale of 1 to 5, 1 being poor and 5 being very good, how would you rate the following aspects of this site:
Usability – what is your experience of finding key information on this site?
1    2    3    4    5

Navigation – what is your experience of getting around the site?
1    2    3    4    5

Searching – how effective is the search at finding the information you want?
1    2    3    4    5

Design – what do you think about the general look and feel of the site?
1    2    3    4    5

Usefulness – how would you rate the information on this site in terms of its reliability and relevance?
1    2    3    4    5

Mapping – what is your experience of using maps on the site?
1    2    3    4    5

Would you like to make any other comments about the above areas or the site in general?


Was there a main service area that you were interested in today?

What was the main purpose of your visit to this site today?

Which of the following applies to you? (tick all that apply)
I live in this area
I work in this area
I work for the council
I am planning to visit this area
I am planning to move to this area
I am a local councillor
I am looking for information for myself
I am looking for information related to my work
I am looking for information on behalf of someone else

If you had not come to the website for the above, how would you prefer to contact the Council?

How likely are you to return to this website in the future?

How did you find out about this site?

In the last 6 months, approximately how many times have you visited this website?

Your post code


Age range


How would you describe your ethnic origin?

If your use of the internet is impeded by any of the following, please indicate how.
Vision impairment
Mobility difficulties
Cognitive or learning
Hearing impairment
None of these
Prefer not to say

Published: 13/01/2011    Last updated: 03/11/2015
See our RSS feeds
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Bookmark this page
Share this page

Contact details

Conwy County Borough Council,
Bodlondeb, Conwy,
North Wales, LL32 8DU.
Telephone: 01492 574000
Fax: 01492 574559
Comments, Compliments and Complaints


Accounting for what we do
Data Protection
Freedom of Information
Copyright and Disclaimers

Site info

Feedback about this site
RSS Feeds
Follow us on Twitter
Access Keys
Site Availability

Government sites

Welsh Government
National Assembly for Wales
North Wales Police
NHS Direct Wales
UK Parliament