Essential Website Maintenance – Thursday 9th January 2020

We will be carrying out essential website maintenance in the afternoon which will affect some functionality. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience the work may cause and will do all we can to keep disruption to an absolute minimum.
Home Council Committees and Meetings The Political Make-up of the Council

The Political Make-up of the Council

Summary (optional)
We have 55 Councillors elected to represent 30 wards (local areas). Councillors are chosen by local people in elections, which take place every five years.
start content

Councillors are responsible for making sure that the services that the Council provides meet the needs of residents and those who work in the county borough. They do this by setting the overall policies and strategies for the Council and by monitoring the way in which these are implemented. 

The full Council of 55 councillors is responsible for agreeing the main policies and priorities, including the Council budget.

Councillors have a duty to the whole county borough, but they have a special duty to the people who live in the ward (electoral division) they were elected to represent, including the people who did not vote for them.

Candidates for election to the Council are either nominated by political parties or stand as independents.

The current political make-up of the Council is:

  • Conwy First Independent Group: 20
  • Conservative: 10
  • Labour: 9
  • Plaid Cymru and the Green Party: 9
  • Lib Dem: 4
  • Allied Independents: 2
  • Independent (Non-aligned): 1
end content