Essential Website Maintenance – Thursday 9th January 2020

We will be carrying out essential website maintenance in the afternoon which will affect some functionality. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience the work may cause and will do all we can to keep disruption to an absolute minimum.
Home News News items Council Leader Appoints Cabinet

Council Leader Appoints Cabinet

Summary (optional)
start content

Council Leader Appoints Cabinet

Councillor Charlie McCoubrey was elected Leader of Conwy County Borough Council today (19 May 2022).

He has appointed the following councillors to his Cabinet:

Cllr Emily Owen: Housing and Regulatory and Deputy Leader

Cllr Mike Priestley: Finance, Revenue and Benefits

Cllr Julie Fallon: Education

Cllr Liz Roberts: Children, Families and Safeguarding

Cllr Penny Andow: Integrated Adult and Community Services

Cllr Goronwy Edwards: Environment, Roads and Facilities – Infrastructure

Cllr Geoff Stewart: Environment, Roads and Facilities – Neighbourhood and the Environment

Cllr Aaron Wynne: Culture and Leisure

Cllr Chris Cater: Democracy and Governance

Cllr McCoubrey said: “This new Cabinet is a coalition of 10 members: 6 members of the Conwy First Independent Group, 2 members of Welsh Labour and 2 from Plaid Cymru.

“In making these appointments, I have had the benefit of discussions with group Leaders and many members. I believe that I have been able to achieve an appropriate balance of political alignment, diversity, language and the geography of the county borough.

“I have also taken into account the strengths and capabilities of the members who have put themselves forward for appointment in order to create a Cabinet that is ready and able to meet the challenges and opportunities that face the Council and the people and businesses of Conwy.”

Posted on 19/05/2022

In this section

Drag side panels here (optional)
end content